Hyjal Summit | 1st Look

224216.jpg

After months and months of SSC/TK & finally downing Kael’thas, our guild decided to enter Hyjal Summit. I have to say, it is a welcome relief to the drip drip drip of Serpenshrine and the 1-shot wipes of Tempest Keep.

The waves and waves of gauntlets are really fun (even though I love the Horde side with Thrall more than Jaina Proudmoore’s side). We were able to get jiggy with Rage Winterchill and Anetheron. Our first ever kills of these two.

Rage Winterchill

Totems:

  • Windfury
  • Healing Stream
  • Frost Resistance Totem
  • Strength of Earth

rw1.jpg

Still trying to work my way around this boss and learn from some mistakes, 1108 dps and 5th overall.

rage233334.jpg

rw1det.jpg

rw1buffz.jpg

wowscrnshot_040208_233514.jpg

Anetheron

First time for all of us vs. the Vampric Aura boss. We faired well against the trash wave leading up to him, but when the fight vs. boss came up down we had some new things to learn.

ane1.jpg

ane1det.jpg

ane1buffz.jpg

I died :( and I had some trouble with Sleep debuf, in fact, I got more sleepy time than anyone else.

All-in-all, I got lots of fun to get some Swings at this boss and we all learned a lot.

jaina020202.jpg

I don’t know if this ever happened before in the history of drops: we had both Molten Fury fist drops.

clawwwwwwww.jpg

More next week.

11 Responses to “Hyjal Summit | 1st Look”


  1. 1 Reghtak April 4, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Hi,

    I’ve got a melee shaman myself and also has my first experience in Hyjal, we also ended up defeating the first two bosses.
    We wiped a few times on Anetheron, due to some silly mistakes we probably (hopefully) don’t make again.
    The waves didn’t really pose as much of a threat I first imagined, we (the melee grp, consisting of 1 rogue, 2 warriors (1 ms, 1 fury), a hunter and myself) mostly targetted the casters, the focused on anything low on hp.

    Both fist weapons dropped from thrash aswell, a warrior got the first drop, the quick offhand, I got the slow mh a bit later. Some cloak dropped twice and the mocassins, but they went to a hunter (more dkp and obviously also very good item for them).

    I don’t have any stats of our attempts, but I’ll try to collect some during our next visit to Hyjal.
    Don’t think I quite managed to reach your DPS numbers, my equipment isn’t really rdy yet for t6 instances.

    Keep up the good work, enjoy reading about your melee shaman experiences.

    Regards,
    Reg

  2. 2 Getiktei April 6, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Hoi,
    My enhancement shammy is also in Mount Hyjal at the moment. We downed like the first 2bosses in 2 weeks. Last night we downed Lady Vashj and so full of energy we downed the 3rd in Mount Hyjal as well.
    At the first 2 bosses i’m normally in top 10. On the 3rd is was 6th.
    We are only been 2 times in MH but that Main Hand just doesn’t want to drop. Gief it! Its goddamn nice. Gratz on that you have it
    By the way how where the rogues in your guild when you got that leather chest from Karathress??? I don’t think mine are gonna be happy xD. I really like the way you right and the pics you post!

    Go go enhancement shamans!
    Greetings Getiktei,

    Frostwhisper (EU)

  3. 3 asirae April 7, 2008 at 12:54 am

    Reghtak:
    Keep up the good work. I’d like to see if you need any adjustment to your attack style to boost your dps. Share a WWS or Recount and I’ll try to give you some tips.

    Getiktei:
    Yeah, I like MH a lot atm too. The 2 rogues in my raid both said “That [Bloodsea Brigand's Vest] is crap (/shrug). My dps went up a lot when wearing it, so I don’t think it’s crap. Loads of +hit rating, so my miss rate went down a lot as well. I don’t know why, but it seems like the Claws of Molten Fury drop close to each other, we had both drop within 30 minutes of each other. The fast offhand went to a rogue. Bon chance in Mount Hyjal.

    I think I might be too heavy on the +crit atm (+31%). Will do a little testing to see if shamans get +crit capped.

  4. 4 Monok April 7, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    We had both fists drop on a full run last week. Grats on getting into Hyjal! Keep posting… :)

  5. 5 Reghtak April 7, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Hi again,

    second trip to MH yesterday, Winterchill down in first try, Anetheron in 3rd or 4th, again mostly due to some misunderstandings and partly due to a strange pull that caused the NPCs to have aggro…

    Tried the third Boss and got him to about 20%, but I had a really hard time making sure I had +3k of mana. I only dropped the usual totems for my group and then autohits, but my mana just went down and down and I had to run far far away to get out of reach from other raidmembers. Even at a large distance I was hit by that mana eating shadow spell and ofcourse at some point, blew myself to pieces. I did eat a pot, had mana totem out and what have you not.
    Other than that, just a bit more dps and that boss is history!

    Ofcourse nothing really fancy dropped for melee shamans. The new mainhand fistweapon dropped again, but already got that.

    Next on the list: first two bosses in BT. Looking forward to that. If one of them two bosses drops one of their nice 1h weapons (axe or mace), I’m very tempted to take it, although I was going to by the new offhand fistweapon for 45 marks, as it is clearly better. But I could also save them marks for something else… hm

    Nice to get that Leather piece there, not a bad one indeed, but I have to agree that the rogues would probably want that in our raid too, so I would be third or so in line to get it.

    31+ Crit seems a bit high indeed, maybe try to get some more STR/AP instead.

    Still have to install WWS, won’t be able to tonight, but maybe next week.

    Regards,
    Reg

  6. 6 Monok April 7, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    I don’t feel 31% is high unless you’re killing your AP. I would think if you’re around 1500 AP and 30% crit you’re about where I was as I was just entering Hyjal. I’ve got just over 1600 AP and 33% crit in my PVE gear at the moment(5/5 Hyjal 6/9 BT). I’m generally anywhere between 5th and 10th on the meter depending on the encounter. I usually watch a few shaman and see how they are itemizing. Sebudai (longtime raider and GM of a guild currently doing Sunwell) surely knows his shit, so I believe he is a good model to look at for itemization:

    http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Doomhammer&n=Sebudai

    1642 AP
    35.54% Crit
    184 Hit
    20 Expertise

    Concerning the leather chest out of SSC… we had that drop so many times we couldn’t give it away. It started to be DE’d almost every week. I really don’t understand them saying it is crap… it is an amazing chest until Archimonde. We even had fury warriors snagging it up!

  7. 7 Getiktei April 8, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Well the new leather chest form badges award is kinda good as well. I think will get it. I will have then about 1686 AP en 143 hit and i guess my critchance (now about 26,31%) will also go up.
    And @ Reghtak try to shamanistic rage and keep watershield up all the time. So you can keep a long time up. I was gonning to do boom and run away (blew a lock friend up xD) and then run back because i could drink a mad alchemist pot and my CD for SR was gone so i could dps again but then again a mark and blew up the melee group. god thank god he was then 1% XD.
    And is expertise rating something for enhancement shamans? oO
    I don’t know for sure :s

    Greetings

  8. 8 Veresitha April 8, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    The same thing happened to our guild the first time we raid Hyjal last week. Both fists dropped and we didn’t have an Enhance Shaman so the Rogue got both.

  9. 9 asirae April 9, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Getiktei: Expertise is very, very good to us. Get the new trinket Shard of Contempt and if you can get T6 gear, two or three pieces of T6 Raid Gear will get you max Expertise (i.e. no dodges for them!).

    T6 EP values
    ————
    Strength = 2.2 EP
    Agility = 1.69 EP
    Crit Rating = 1.74 EP
    Hit Rating = 1.69
    Haste Rating = 1.82
    Attack Power = 1
    Armor Penetration = 0.35 EP
    Expertise Rating = 3.18

  10. 10 Getiktei April 9, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Aight gonna try get it then. Was thinking about getting it because some of the other server shammy’s got it. I guess the chance on hit procs alot also. So now gonna go do that instance :p. Thanks wasn’t really sure about that trinket.

  11. 11 diet trends July 2, 2013 at 11:38 am

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment
    and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

