the Iron Man run | Zul’Aman and Black Temple to Bloodboil

Ok. I haven’t much time to post, so I’ll snag some combat stats and discuss it later. I went to a full Zul’Aman clear and progressed to Bloodboil in Black Temple. He seems to be a hurdle for a lot of raiders, so I might need some help on how to tackle the big Fel Orc.
This is mostly for historical recording than anything. My Iron Man day of raiding stats here. I’m just going to spill the stats here in a WALL_OF_TEXT, hopefully I can come back and re-edit later.

Zoomed through the 1st 4 bosses in Zul’Aman for the Bear Mount and then continued on to Malacrass and Zul’Jin.

Nalorakk

I know I dropped a Searing Totem and Fire Elemental Totem for Nalorakk, I wonder why it’s missing from the WWS. /shrug

Hex Lord Malacrass

I usually put on a fair amount of Stamina gear, but to survive the Spirit Bolts, make sure to get shadow resistance high (i.e. Night’s End cloak + Medallion of Karabor).

Zul’Jin

Wow. I never thought I’d see the day when I would be tops on that Zul’Jin fight. Hunters have it pretty easy throughout this boss encounter.

Supremus

Can I tell you that I don’t like Supremus? I had to completely avoid him for a lot of time for this fight, mostly because there was no one else to take the hurtful strikes near melee range. He absolutely throws melee dps away regularly, ranged just sit back and target a big, big, big guy and sidestep volcanoes. Stormstrike at only 9% of my total damage, that sux. And, we don’t usually have a good tank on both threat and health, so guess who’s next on Supremus Hateful strike list? *Crunch*!

Shade of Akama

Flask ran out and I forgot to reapply for this fight. :(

Eek. Look at how low the Windfury Crit percentage is: 18 %

That sux too.

Interesting. I’ll have to look at some past Akama fights.

Teron Gorefiend

Stormstrike at only 17% crit rate. Yuck.


Gurtogg Bloodboil

Gurtogg is our progression block right now. Maybe we need 9-10 healers? How do you enhancement shamans run the Fel Rage? Equip shield? Forget shield, just DPS like mad? Pop Shamanistic Rage? Heroism/Bloodlust when?


9 Responses to “the Iron Man run | Zul’Aman and Black Temple to Bloodboil”


  1. 1 Anonymous May 21, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Take 10 healers for your first BB kill. Done.

  2. 2 Anonymous May 21, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    yo…we use 8 or 9 healers not sure tho :P , pop shamanistic rage if you get the felrage, we also use BL for our tanks coz of that nasty knocback and the rest of the shit, i totem twist or we have another shaman i grp for grace of air too, 3 tanks > 2 wars and druid m coh priest helps a lot this fight, hope you have grps aranged for eating bloodboil dmg…

    this is the fight that really needs a lot of luck..if only mail and plate wearers get the rage he is good as dead, altho the threat can often be a problem here too…

    hope this helps :P

    and yea..i switch to shield too…who knows..maybe you get lucky and block something hehe

  3. 3 Andover May 23, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    For Bloodboil learning I’d take more healers to start with 8-9-10 just to get it down. This is an absolute healing hurdle. It really depends on the the healing group makeup. What do you have?

    How we do it: 3-4 Paladins (2-3 Holy, 1 Protection in healing gear, that’d be me), 3 priests (2 Holy, 1 Disc), 2 Shamans, 1 Druid. That makes a total of 8-9 that we run all of BT with.

    The Fight:

    P1: Non Fel Raged

    -Healers: Paladins, Druids keep heals on the tanks while Priests and Shamans heal the Bloodboiled groups.

    -DPS: Watch your threat here, no trinkets/cooldowns. Nice and steady since the tanks have a hard enough time switching threat.

    P2: Fel Rage (Let the fun begin)

    -Healers:
    -Paladins: Have the Bloodboil Macro as follows

    /tar Gurtogg
    /assist Gurtogg Bloodboil
    /cast (spell of choice) <- In this case for Paladins MAX RANK HOLY LIGHT ALWAYS.

    In Fel Rage if you have Paladins using Flash of Light kick them out of the raid, PERIOD, no questions asked.

    -Druid: Have the druid keep HoT’s rolling on all tanks with debufs. Forget about them and you wipe. Have them throw HoT’s on the Fel Rage if possible.

    -Shamans: Chain Heal your little tails off. Keep the raid alive while the remainder of the Bloodboils are ticking.

    -Priests: Pull out all the stops here, keep the raid up and give whatever support you can to the Paladins healing the Fel Rage.

    Normaly on Fel Rage the first few seconds are ok if you’re using the macro, it’s when the phase gets to an end where healing becomes more difficult but by that time raid healers can be helping out on Fel Rage target and should make life easier.

    Now, in your case you absolutely must have Shamanistic Rage available. Use it and pray. Having a shield is nice too for the healers if you get a block or two.

    If healers get targeted get them an Earth Shield from one of the shamans, Amp Magic since BB’s majority of attacks are Physical (we don’t use the Amp Magic trick, don’t need to for us at this point but could help learning guilds). Every class should use their abilities to reduce the chance to hit here and the damage reduction abilities.

    It’s straight healing chaos on P2. Just make sure those who can AoE heal are doing it and leave the direct healing to Paladins going all out. From there help the Pally’s out as you can and you should have it.

  4. 4 Monok May 24, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Greets

    Since I wear only a couple pieces of mail, generally for this fight if I get felrage I do the following:

    1 – Equip shield while turning him so my back is to a wall where the tanks tank him
    2 – Shamanistic rage
    3 – Lesser healing wave spam

    The debuff is random from what I understand but you can potentially get a 100% bonus for healing yourself… so it takes a great deal of pressure off of the healers if you can help them out like this.

    We have 8 healers I believe with 3 tanks (2 warriors 1 bear). We have groups that swap in and out for the blood boil so nobody gets too many debuffs at any given time. I keep str/wf/hstream/searing down for the duration of the fight… swapping wf for goa if the druid has agro. This fight is boring for melee…

    Good luck :)

  5. 5 asirae May 25, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Awesome tips, all.

  6. 6 Molinos of Frostwolf June 5, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Asirae! I’m having some difficulties with my dps lately. I’m not sure if it’s just bad luck (i’m usually crit capped) but i’m not seeing crits as often as before. My gear is better than yours in almost everyway, yet we get similar dps. You do something better than me thats for sure. If you could drop me a line by email, or to send a mail to Molinos of Frostwolf horde. Thanks for any input you can give me. Feel free to armory me and give me any tips you can on increasing my dps.

    Thanks for any input,
    Your fellow enhancement shaman,
    Molinos

  7. 7 asirae June 7, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    If your gear is bettah, than maybe its a little group makeup for raiding or could be the sequence of attacks you perform.

    Let’s start with the group stuff:
    Molinos: what group makeup do you usually have?
    I am fortunate to get a Fury Warrior with the increased +AP.
    I also get a feral druid in for increased +Crit.
    Do you get Kings buff from a paladin too?

    All these buffs will get you to another level of dps.

    I try to maximize burst dps more than long-term dps, so my dps can be good one fight and piss poor the next.

    When you attack a boss, what are your normal attacks? Start with Stormstrike, then Earth Shock, repeat? Or something else?

  8. 8 Ryi July 17, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Could sound like a bit of a stupid question but what type of shield have you guys gone for?
    I’m torn between well the tanky type and the healy type for a bit of an extra boost when i’m healing my little ass off during the fel rage

    Ryi

  9. 9 DB August 1, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Well recently, as in the past week, our guild has downed Teron, Bloodboil, RoS, and Mother. Bloodboil was a bit of a challenge due to massive healing, at first I just dps’d through the fel rage. However, we were running with only 7 healers, and they stuck with the Fel Rage target and couldnt worry about the tanks, so I threw on my healing mace and shield and just spammed chain heal on the tanks. However, with one dps not doing dmg during fel rage where threat is out the window, it took a bit longer than expected. As for when fel rage is on you, throw healing mace and shield on, pop sham rage, and just spam lesser heal. As for clothies, if any of them PvP have them bring that gear for the fight. Overall dps will lower, but this is not a dps fight, just a survivability fight.

    Best of luck with him, can be a hassle for the healers.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

