Void Reaver w/Heavy Melee

vra.jpg

Finally got some action last night with a bunch of new guild members (I don’t know what happened to several of our regular ‘raiders’) but we 2-shotted the big robot last night in as much time as Void Reaver’s enrage timer allowed.  First attempt was unsuccessful because too many ranged players gibbed by arcane orbs; second swing was a home run.

My party:

  • Rogue – combat swords
  • Rogue – combat swords
  • Rogue – dagger
  • Warrior – fury
  • Shaman – (me!)

Overall, I did well as could be expected at 6th in damage output and 637 dps.  Only the rogues, Fury warrior and Hunter ahead of me.  All those except for the hunter benefitted from my Windfury & Unleashed Rage buffs.  Totems tonight were Windfury, Strength of Earth, Searing and Mana Spring.  I usually didn’t have much problem with mana except late in the fight I should have gone with more Water Shields than Lightning Shields for more mana back.

vrchartmin.jpg

Problems:

  • My miss rate
  • Healing myself 20% of total time 

My two biggest problems were that I spent only 8 minutes kicking melee damage into Void Reaver and missed a whole lot (need more +hit), but the real pain I see is that I spent a whole 2 minutes of the 10 total minutes healing myself.  See below after the jump for the stats and details of each player in my group.

I was told by our raid leaders that melee players will just keep dps on Void Reaver during his “pounding” attacks, so that’s what I did.  I need to find a better way of avoiding the poundings and also to keep damage and unleashed rage coming in by hitting him more rather than healing myself.  The other melee dps that topped me in the damage meters all received significant healing from our raid healers and buffs by yours truly, but I received the least healing in my party, so I hastily healed myself. 

 postraidanalysis.jpg

Looks like the dagger rogue with poisons didn’t get much from my Windfury totem.

Drops from Void Reaver tonight were:

 vrtrash.jpg

 More individual score sheets here when you click below for 5 players in group 2!

See the % Heal column?  See me at 5% total healing?  See a dedicated healer paladin at 6% total healing?  Yep, I healed myself instead of dps’ing the robot.  /sigh

vrchart.jpg

ravaner-copy.jpg

amoonfanas-copy.jpg

grifiano-copy.jpg

ozonea-copy.jpg

asirae-copy-2.jpg

9 Responses to “Void Reaver w/Heavy Melee”


  1. 1 dajay4nerfmyshaman November 30, 2007 at 7:46 am

    Advice, don’t make the same error as me and do not put any +Hit gems on your stuff.

    Due to shaman mechanics, it’s our special hits which does all our damage. There is a magnificient post on ElitistJerks about this.

    Just take the +Hit from talents/stuff and itemize yourself in PA/Crit. Don’t try to have +200 Hit or more.

    Do a little search on Sebudai, you’ll have an overview of end-game itemization of an enhancement shaman.

    Dajay
    http://nerfmyshaman.blogspot.com

  2. 2 asirae December 3, 2007 at 2:49 am

    Yes. I agree. Over 45% of my attacks on this fight were plain old white melee damage.

    I have about 135 +hit rating now, just wondering if I should stop or keep climbing up the +hit ladder to something like +150 or +170?

    I know +200 is too much, but where is a good number of +hit rating for someone that is in SSC/TK/ZA?

    ~ A

  3. 3 asirae December 11, 2007 at 3:22 am

    I’m at 175 hit rating now (no +hit gems).

  4. 4 whitebeast December 15, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    hey..nice raid…but… i have something to ask you…but dont know where lol so ill do it here…

    i see you are very experienced in playing enhancement…i was wondering
    if you could help me a bit…. what stats enh should have to start 25 man raids?

  5. 5 asirae December 19, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    This how I value stuff (for now):

    Beginning 25-person raiding

    AP: 1336
    Crit: 23 %
    Hit: 160
    Health 7218
    Mana: 6.3k

    Mid-to-End game 25-person raiding:

    AP: 1626
    Crit: 28%
    Hit: 180
    HP: 7k or so
    Mana: 6.8k

  6. 6 whitebeast December 21, 2007 at 10:03 am

    160 hit—thats a lot… how did you get that much…gems?

    i read that its not necesary to have that much tho…

    http://elitistjerks.com/f31/t13297-enhance_shaman_collected_works_theorycraft_vol_i/

    this is a good post about enh but there were no starting stats…

    but thank you

  7. 7 asirae December 22, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Yep, I’ve read the ‘additional +hit is unnessary’ many times, and I agree for the most part. The +hit we have from talents and yellow damage (hit capped Windfury for instance) is great and I personally don’t add +hit gems to anything, but equipment with natural bonuses to +hit will add up (e.g. 2 piece bonus for 2 X Desolation gear to enhancement shamans adds +35 hit rating, so think about that Helm and Pants of Desolation…they are darn good).

    It’s a juggle to get the right combination of stats but I let my raid stats be the final judge of what items to wear.

    I do think that getting 100 hit rating is kind of a minimum (raid bosses are beyond your level so you need something to get more melee (white) damage on them). My normal white melee damage can be 40% or more of my hits, so the +hit is going exclusively for that. Of course, I’ve seen more misses from my shocks on those kinds of raid bosses because I have zero +spell hit.

    A small history of some raid bosses:

    December 4th hit rating: 100-115
    December 21st hit rating: 170

    My 1st goal was to get an additional +14% to hit when raiding.

    I know this is kinda silly, but I look at dps changes from one fight to the next, namely Akil’Zon with 22.7% increase in dps (722 before, 934 after) & Nalorakk with a 26.2% increase in dps (720 before and 976 after). Of course some of was an overall increase in my crit rating but a big part of it was increase the number of hits I made (about 5% increase in the hits I made vs. boss from Dec. 4th to Dec. 21st). More hits = more Unleashed Rage uptime for yourself and fellow rogues/fury warriors and more everything for an enhancement shaman. I’m probably not going to increase my +hit any more until Mt. Hyjal, but I’m going to keep a history of battles so I can learn what works and what doesn’t.

    A lot of theorycraft is good to begin with; just fine tune it with reality to maximize your raid contribution.

  8. 8 อาการปวดหลัง August 18, 2014 at 1:38 am

    Herbal supplements and pain relief oil such as Rumatone Gold capsule
    and oil not only lessen the pain but also eliminate the root cause of backache.
    NSAID are recommended in allopathic medication for pain relief but all
    the side effects of these medicines are yet to be discovered hence their long term use is not considered as
    safe yet. Now all you have to do is pull towards your chest with your hands.


  1. 1 Void Reaver, take II « Raiding Enhancements - Shaman Trackback on December 11, 2007 at 2:54 am

Leave a Reply

