YAZAR (Yet Another Zul’Aman Run)

Another installment of my combat in Zul’Aman as an enhancement shaman, this time with no rogues and no dps warriors!  Oh mah gowd!

First off for the night, a run to Gruul and his ogrekin.

lairbrute.jpg

After a pretty quick Gruul run, we split into two teams: one for Zul’Aman and one for badge farming in Karazhan.  I am still after the fist weapon Fury off-hand from Nalorakk so I hopped into the Zul’Aman raid.  14% drop rate? More like 1.4% for me!

For the record … Nalorakk deaths 6: Fury drops 0.

We missed the 20 minute timed run by 1 minute (a silly wipe that everyone knew would happen and yet we still bungled the trolls and got nailed). 

Party:

  • Prot Warrior
  • Feral Druid
  • Hunter
  • Resto Druid
  • Shaman (me)

Buffs were agility with Grace of Air totem, Strength of Earth totem, Searing totem & Greater Fire Elemental totem, as well as Mana Spring totem (for resto druid & me).  The guild leader (feral druid) asked me to switch from Grace of Air to Windfury totem, so I changed that almost 2 minutes into the fight.  I’m not sure if the Prot Warrior was having any trouble, but the Windfury would surely help him.

I was 2nd in dps for Nalorakk, not bad considering I was up against our guild dps captain, the hunter.  He is usually #1 dps in our 25-person raids, so I’m not feeling too bad about it.  And check out the 976 dps for the fight!  That might be one of the highest dps I’ve had vs. a proper raid boss. 

wwsnalorakk.jpg

 Well, I thought maybe I need to step it up a notch, so I went to the Eagle Avatar Akil’Zon with a melee friendly fighter’s anticipation.  Low and behold, it paid off!  #1 in dps for this fight and I love the 934 dps I managed for the fight.  Almost to the holy grail of 1000 dps for a raid boss.

wwsakilzon.jpg

I peeked at my miss rate here and it was up at 20% vs. Akil’Zon.  Need to look at that some more.  My +hit rating was 150 the entire time in Zul’Aman.

wwsakilzon-as.jpg

Halazzi, the Lynx Avatar, is one boss fight I like almost as much as the Eagle and Bear avatars, but I often die once during the fight.  I was even asked to place my shaman self in front of Halazzi in order to split up the Saber Lashes and you can guess how I ended up…. taking a dirt nap!

wwshalazzi.jpg

Dps dropped a lot mostly because my potion/flask ran out and I died twice vs. Halazzi.

Overall, not too bad considering I had to shift a lot to take out totems.  I was tops on totem duty, even though my dps could have been much higher on the boss if I ignored the Corrupted Lightning totems. 

/target corrupted

corruptedlightningtotem.jpg

I had the same gear on as Nalorakk and Akil’Zon and my miss rate vs. Halazzi was 16.4%.

wwshalazzi-as1.jpg

Totems dropped for Halazzi fight (probably should have dropped Nature Resistance totem to resist the Corrupted Lightning totem damage):

  • Grace of Air Totem
  • Strength of Earth Totem
  • Searing Totem
  • Mana Spring Totem  
  • Fire Elemental Totem
  • Stoneskin Totem (when I told to take a saber lash!)

History of some bosses I’ve battled.

history.jpg

3 Responses to “YAZAR (Yet Another Zul’Aman Run)”


  1. 1 glodefunk December 21, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Hi Asirae,

    I play a dwarf shadowpriest on the Detheroc server and I am really interested in the damage meters that you are using. I am always looking for better ways to track my performance and it seems these meters have a really nice UI and funcitonality. Please let me know.

    Also, I really am enjoying the large ‘photographic perspective’ images you include from the game. Nice touch.

  2. 2 glodefunk December 21, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    P.S. I am adding you to my work-friendly wordpress blog. I enjoy reading intelligent blogs on occasion and yours is very nicely done.

    Sincerely,
    Kolm

    http://www.frankglodek.com/blog

  3. 3 asirae December 22, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Cool. Thanks for the kudos. I try to take at least 1 or 2 screenshots for every raid, but sometimes I forget. Text is great, but the WoW camera adds another fantasy dimension to any blog, so I try to add lots of pictures.

    As for the combat stats, I use wowwebstats.com to upload the output from my /combatlog & you should too. Of course nothing is 100% accurate, but the graphs and data are consistent from *my* perspective. I noticed that Blizzard will be *totally* rehashing their combatlog in WoW 2.4 release, so I expect a lot of meters to be broken at least for a short while after 2.4 is released.

    Until next time,
    Asirae


Leave a Reply

